TSP Center - The Thrift Savings Plan Community

"FantasyTSP™ and Discussion Forum for the Thrift Savings Plan Investor"

Recommend TSP Center Register  •  Search  •  FantasyTSP Trophies   

Board index » FantasyTSP » Introductions

Join now for full access to TSP Center

This topic has 11 replies

You must be a registered member and logged in to view topic replies.

or 

Post subject: Greetings
 Post Posted: Fri Aug 11, 2017 4:26 pm 

Flag: United States (us)

Reputation point: 5
Hello,

I'm Phil and I'm very new to this. I started for the Feds in August of 09 (yay almost 8 year anniversary yay....). I grew up in the town where I work and never actually thought I would work here but I was close to finishing college and couldn't afford to keep working at places like Wal Mart. To my surprise, they called me about 3 months after I applied (when the economy had taken a huge dump; I don't "love" my job but consider myself VERY fortunate). There were a few years that I didn't invest in TSP largely because I just don't trust my employers (the government) and kind of think a total crash (like, Turkey level) is pretty imminent. But I decided that if the system does crash that badly, it is pretty irrelevant whether I lose all my money in TSP or keep my money and its not worth anything. So I started again a couple of years ago.

Until now I have invested all my money in the L2040 fund because that's what they say to do for when I'll likely retire (I have about 16 years until I can retire which, if things go how I hope I will because I want to teach in a college or university after) or I can go another 21 years, give or take a year. So I have a lot of time to try to make the most use of what is available and try to work the TSP system.