New guy here and just transfered to G.

General TSP Discussion.

Moderator: Aitrus

harpole

New guy here and just transfered to G.

Post by harpole »

Hello everyone,

I'm a newbie when it comes to posting on the forums and thought it would be a good time to post. Just last week I submitted my first IFT, with 100% to G fund. My thoughts were that the market hit "another" all time high so why not take profits. Now I'm concerned that I got out to early.

What are my next options? Should I wait for the next dip and put 20-40% back into the C fund? Also, is it best to have my contribution allocations sent to the G fund or always going into the C or S?

I don't think I have the courage to follow the seasonal strategy, as I have trouble moving 100% of my retirement into a stock fund.

I'm 39 yrs. old and now that I've finally made it to the 6-digit mark, I'm more cautious than ever.

Thanks,

cashworth

Re: New guy here and just transfered to G.

Post by cashworth »

It sounds like your signs are pointing towards equities so here's my 2 cents (if you are asking whether to move or not, skip this post) (for what its worth because I'm also a newbie, I'm in it to win it!! 30C/30S/40I)

If your technical indicators point towards a new top and upward momentum, in theory you should buy back in asap because every day out of the market is a day with no gains and climbing share purchase prices.
Or, you can wait for a drop and time the market to buy back in on a discount day which is very tough with COB trading.

evilanne

Post by evilanne »

Welcome to the forum harpole & cashworth!