Merit Promotion Questions

Civil Service Discussion.

Moderator: Aitrus

tspibc

Merit Promotion Questions

Post by tspibc »

I am new to the federal government and I was wondering if I apply to Merit Promotion postings is there still veterans preference?

In other words, if I apply to the same job that a vet applies to (I have no preference) under merit promotion does the vet have preference over me?

Thank you

rfalcan

Re: Merit Promotion Questions

Post by rfalcan »

I believe that this counts only for external hires (Vet get a one time preference). Once you are in the system, you compete on even field. But, I have seen people with more experiance being over looked by their supervisors without real justification. just an observation!

S2000

Post by S2000 »

Q1: I am new to the federal government and I was wondering if I apply to Merit Promotion postings is there still veterans preference?

A1: Veterans preference is only used as an INITIAL hiring authority. So a vet, who is not currently employed by the federal government, and who is qualified for the job of interest, is eligible to apply for the job based on his veteran status.

Q2: In other words, if I apply to the same job that a vet applies to (I have no preference) under merit promotion does the vet have preference over me?

A2: The veteran, who is currently employed or not employed by the fed, is only eligible to apply for the position, but does not have a preference over you.

Hope this helps

tspibc

Post by tspibc »

Thank you for the clear responses! It helps a lot

Maybe someone knows the answer to another special hiring authority question I have been thinking about.

If one applies to a merit promotion position under superior academic achievement do you not have to meet time in grade requirements?