Buyback.

Military Discussion.

Moderator: Aitrus

ArrieS

Buyback.

Post by ArrieS »

I thought I would bring this idea to the community since it deals with the TSP.

I’m a Veteran and I get to buy back 9 and a half years. As a Federal employee I get FERS. They love to talk about FERS and its three pillars or something like that, the pension, Social Security, and the TSP.

However, considering I am buying back my time, which feels like a great wrong since I earned it and when I earned it, it was worth 2.5%, but now I have to pay for it and get it at a reduced rate… Sorry that was a rant.

So I have bought back my pension time, I paid Social Security taxes on it at the time, but I never got a matching TSP. So for the time period which is almost ten years my retirement plan is incomplete by the FERS standard. No third leg.

My idea is for people buying back their time, that they are allowed to voluntarily make additional contributions that the Government would match. These contributions would be based on the amount the Government claimed you earned and therefore used to calculate your buy back. I believe my amount was about $240,000. So as an example I would up my contribution to 7% a pay period. That additional 2% would go towards the $12,000 that would be my 5% of $240,000, and the government would match that until it had paid an additional $12,000, its 5%.

But here is where I really want your opinion. This is the Government and if I really want this I have to figure out a way to pay for it.

So I was thinking of reducing the tax deduction for home owners that are receiving BAH. Most Americans have this deduction because they are paying their mortgage with income that was already taxed. But BAH is tax free. I would like some honest answers, I was thinking of maybe making it based on rank, I.E., O-4 and above can only take half a deduction and O-3 and below can take the full exemption.