Pre-Retirement Planning

Managing your TSP and alternate investment options after retirement or separation from service.

Moderator: Aitrus

galveston1

Pre-Retirement Planning

Post by galveston1 »

I am planning to retire in about 8 years. I will be 62 years old and have 42 years of credible FERS service at that time. So I live and work in the Mid-Atlantic (DC/Baltimore Locality) now and plan to stay here until retirement. We (wife & I) bought a house here in 2013 with a 30-year VA loan mortgage. After retiring, we plan to move to Florida. We plan to sell our current home and buy a retirement home in Florida. (We have no desire to keep our current home and rent it out) I want to finance our new Florida home through the VA again, so that means we have to sell our existing home before I can get another VA loan. I’m exempt from the VA funding fee because I am a veteran receiving VA compensation for a service-connected disability. In order to do that, we will likely move into an apartment for a few months while we look for our new home in Florida. At first, we had planned to retire, then get an apartment in Florida while we house hunt. Then I got to thinking, maybe we should get an apartment in our current location before retiring. My line of thinking is that if we do it this way, then we could actually close on the new home while still employed as a federal worker. I’m not real sure, but it seems like a bank would be more willing to finance someone who’s still employed over a retiree. Plus it might make the transition a little smoother. By this I mean we would have an actual residence address in Florida to list on my retirement package.

I know there are great minds out there and maybe some of you can tell me what you think of this plan. Or even better, maybe you could suggest better options.

Thanks everyone.
In investing, what is comfortable is rarely profitable

Miketurk

Re: Pre-Retirement Planning

Post by Miketurk »